Four years ago today, Leo graced the world with his presence.  Well, perhaps “grace” is not the right word.  He more like EXPLODED into the world – two weeks early, very quickly, and in the middle of the night.  He has remained that way since then.  He is a firecracker.  There is no other adjective I can use to describe him.  Nothing else does him justice.  The world is his and we’re all his supporting characters.

I distinctly remember lying in the hospital after his birth, just him and me, during one of the few moments that week where we were alone.  I was looking at him and wondering what in the world he would be like when he reached the age that Simon was at that time.  Simon was 8 short weeks away from being 4.  So, here we are.

They couldn’t be more different.  And yet, they adore each other.  Most times.

And so, to honor Leo on this day, I have one wish for him.  I hope that he never loses his fearlessness and that he uses this power for good.  He could take over the world through sheer, boisterous excitement and charm, if he wants to.  Simon is a genius in the way a tortured artist is – he gets into his head a lot.  He’s a thinker.  He could definitely take over the world, but he probably wouldn’t want to, because he could predict all the complications of doing so.  Leo, unlike Simon, spends a lot more time DOING than thinking.  He does think…he just does it after the fact.  He doesn’t seem to let pesky barriers stop him – he just hurdles (usually literally) right over them.  I admire, respect, and am awed by him for that.

I am not as smart as Simon, and I am not as brave as Leo.  But I am lucky to have them both as examples to follow.  And I can’t wait to see what happens next.

